Contact
Search
Close this search box.
Search
Close this search box.

Welcome Guides

Exploring the Karlsruhe TechnologyRegion (TRK) together, making contacts and arriving in their new everyday life and career. The Welcome Guides accompany the international skilled workers on their first steps in the region to make their start easier.
Discover the tandem program for you as an international skilled worker and all the information if you would like to become a Welcome Guide yourself! 

On this page:

What is a Welcome Guide?

The Welcome Guides are committed citizens who have lived in the Karlsruhe TechnologyRegion (TRK) for several years and want to make it easier for you to settle into one of the sunniest regions in Germany. Your Welcome Guide will accompany you for a period of 6 months.

The accompaniment should not be about visits to the authorities or translation services, but much more about conversations, encounters, shared leisure activities - about topics that you like, that you need and that help you move forward.

We are sure that you and your Welcome Guide will benefit from this new tandem program.

Are you interested in the Tandem program? Feel free to contact us - we will find the perfect Welcome Guide for you.

At a glance: What does a Welcome Guide do?

Your Welcome Guide will accompany you on your first steps in the Karlsruhe TechnologyRegion and:

  • makes it easier for you to get started and settle into your new surroundings,
  • shares its own experiences and provides impetus for new contacts,
  • shows possibilities for your family members if necessary,
  • helps you to quickly feel at home.

What is not part of your Welcome Guide's duties?

Your Welcome Guide does not take care of services such as legal advice, accompanying you to public offices, arranging appointments or translating and interpreting.

Would you like to become a Welcome Guide yourself?

All citizens who feel at home in the Karlsruhe technology region and are happy to share their experiences and tips can become a Welcome Guide. It doesn't matter whether you have lived in our region for a long time or have only recently arrived here.

What are the framework conditions of the tandem relationship?

  • Duration: 6 months
  • Frequency of contacts: Minimum 1x fortnightly
  • The form of the meetings is up to the tandem partners
  • The Welcome Center TRK is always available as a point of contact

Speaker at the Welcome Guide training course

Meike von Platen-Holzapfel
Economist, Global Mobility Consultant, Career & Transition Coach

At BASF, she has shaped the welcoming culture at the Ludwigshafen site for many years. She has supported numerous international specialists and managers in successfully managing their secondment to the company headquarters and making them and their families feel at home in the region. She also knows from her own experience the challenges of starting a new career in another country and how to master them successfully.

Downloads:

Flyer "My Welcome Guide training" (620 kB, PDF)

The Tandem program in detail

Since 2021, the Welcome Center TechnologieRegion Karlsruhe has been offering additional support for international professionals and students, especially newcomers, in the region: the "Welcome Guides" tandem program. This project was created in 2021 as part of a one-year cooperation between the Welcome Center TRK and the Rotary Club Karlsruhe-Fächerstadt and will be continued by the Welcome Center TRK for the third time in 2023.

Competition for skilled workers from abroad is fierce. For this reason, it is important to actively promote the sustainable integration of international skilled workers and students who have chosen the Karlsruhe TechnologyRegion as a place to live and work. "People will only stay if they find social connections, i.e. contacts," says Petra Bender, Head of the Welcome Center TRK. "Most of our participants so far have found the program to be a valuable enrichment for both sides - for the newcomers and the guides."

Testimonials

International specialists report on their start in the TRK. Are you planning a (new) career start in the Karlsruhe TechnologyRegion? Read how international specialists from India, Serbia, Pakistan, Spain, Colombia and Cameroon have mastered their start in the TRK - five very personal experience reports.

Shital Khaladkar - Software developer from India

Our children grow up here in Karlsruhe with three languages as a matter of course: German, English and Marathi, our mother tongue. This is made possible by the European School Karlsruhe. That's why we moved to Karlsruhe before our son started school. That was very important to my husband and me, because we don't know where his job will take us in the future. That's why I'm glad that our son can go to school here.

Now that his little sister is going to ESK kindergarten, I'm a working mum and working part-time in the IT sector again. I'm also doing a part-time Master's degree. None of this would be possible without reliable full-time childcare! For that reason alone, I would choose Karlsruhe again at any time.

I particularly love the forest and the palace gardens in the city. As a software developer, I naturally also like the technical flair ─ the ZKM, the KIT... And we've been well received here. For example, one of my husband's colleagues arranged our apartment in Waldstadt. We couldn't have done better. But I have to say that we've also had some less pleasant experiences in Germany. With landlords, for example: we initially paid far too much for an apartment. Now we are members of a tenants' association. The advice is very helpful if you don't know your way around. I can only advise anyone who is new to Germany to take advantage of such opportunities. Then everyday life simply works better.

Field report by Shital Khaladkar
Field report by Shital Khaladkar

Vesna Prelevic - Internist from Serbia

During my medical studies in Serbia, I had already heard that there was a shortage of doctors in Germany. I found the option of working there very interesting, so I started learning German at the Goethe Institute in Novi Sad.

When I finished my exams, I really wanted to work in Germany and specifically applied to a few clinics. To further improve my German - you simply have to master the language when you work with patients - I attended an intensive course at the adult education center in Karlsruhe during my vacation. The Karlsbad Langensteinbach Clinic, which is very close by, responded to my application at exactly the same time. What can I say? The rest is history... After two years in Karlsbad, I can say that it was a lucky coincidence.

Because I still had to prove the equivalence of my studies, I first worked as a trainee and prepared for my exam. It was a lot of work, but it was worth it: when I successfully passed the exam, I was issued a German license to practice medicine. Now I can work as a regular doctor in Germany.

The hospital actively supported me in the recognition process. In general, I was very well received here! For example, there is also a German course for doctors at the hospital, because we are a very international team. I think that makes it much easier to settle in. I haven't actually experienced any culture shock. It's just a step-by-step process for me. My next project is my driver's license. I still have to get it changed...

Field report by Vesna Prelevic
Field report by Vesna Prelevic

Dr.-Ing. Saquib Sarfraz - Scientist from Pakistan

For me, the Karlsruhe TechnologyRegion is a gateway to Europe! You can reach a wide variety of places within an hour's drive: France with the beautiful Alsace, Switzerland and of course the Black Forest and the Palatinate. That's wonderful! And then there is the very high quality of life in the region. High-tech meets lifestyle - that sums it up perfectly!

I have the comparison. As a scientist, I have traveled a lot: In addition to Pakistan, I also lived with my family in the UK for a while, and I did my doctorate in Berlin. But only Karlsruhe has become our second home.

I came to Karlsruhe because of a position at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT). Although I had a very good position at my university in Pakistan, I knew as soon as I read the advertisement that I wanted to apply. My research focuses on human-computer interaction. The working conditions for this field of science are ideal here. The funding structures in Germany are unique - as a scientist, I simply have more opportunities here. As I research, teach and supervise scientific work, my work at KIT is very varied. I really enjoy this variety.

I've been here for over two years now and the time has passed incredibly quickly. The fact that my family, my wife and our three children, were initially unable to enter Germany directly with me was a bit of a nuisance. The procedure for family reunification was quite complicated. But once that was done, it quickly became clear to us: we want to stay here!

Testimonials from Saquib Sarfraz
Testimonials from Saquib Sarfraz

Iñigo Sesar - Electrical engineering student from Bilbao

Buying a bike was pretty much the first thing I did when I arrived in Karlsruhe. The many cycle paths are ideal for me as an amateur cyclist - no comparison to Bilbao. Then I explored my new surroundings on my bike. The fan structure of the city totally fascinates me! Well, you wouldn't expect anything less from an engineer, would you?
I'm doing my Master's in electrical engineering and am currently at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) as an exchange student. I came here because of the university's great reputation. And at my university back home, the University of the Basque Country, fellow students of mine who had already completed an Erasmus semester here said: you absolutely have to do this!

Finding an apartment in Karlsruhe was really difficult. I was really desperate at times and thought I would have to stay in a hostel for the semester. But in the end everything worked out and I found a shared flat in Südstadt. Thank goodness!

Apart from that, the welcome here was very warm: KIT takes great care of us exchange students. That was very helpful, especially in the first few weeks. The student-run Erasmus working group and the people from the International Students Office did a great job. Lots of events, parties and excursions - there's no homesickness!
Once I have my Master's degree in the bag, I can well imagine coming here and looking for a job. There are simply so many exciting companies for an engineer at TRK. You can even put up with the German weather...

Field report by Iñigo Sesar
Field report by Iñigo Sesar

Elsa Martínez Uribe - Graduate from Colombia

When I came to the region, it was - as they say here in Germany? - a jump in at the deep end. In my home country, Colombia, many things are very different. I had never lived in Germany before. My husband is German and I followed him here after we got married. I got to know the culture a bit through him, but living here is something completely different.

Baden-Baden means a new start for me. Especially in my job. That's why I've been doing a language course for work-related German over the last few months. In addition to the language, I've also learned a lot about working life in Germany - about contracts, taxes and everything else you need to know. That has helped me a lot.

A four-week internship was part of the course. We had to look for a job ourselves. That was great training! The course will soon be over and now I know that I can do it. I feel ready to look for a job here.

We would like to stay in the region, because we have settled in well in Baden-Baden and we feel at home here. The city has a very special atmosphere. And everything is so chic - even on the bus I meet ladies who look like the Queen.

Field report by Elsa Martínez Uribe
Field report by Elsa Martínez Uribe

Sylvain Djikam Tchale - mechanical engineer from Cameroon

As a passionate mechanical engineer, it was already clear to me as a high school student in Cameroon that I wanted to go to Germany one day. For us in Cameroon, Germany is the mechanical engineering world champion par excellence. So I ventured from warm Africa to icy Germany in January of all months to attend a language course. An important foundation for my future career. The pre-study internship followed six months later.

In the meantime, letters of admission from several universities had arrived. I found accommodation in Karlsruhe very quickly. So the decision to go to Karlsruhe was relatively easy and the right one. The helpfulness demonstrated by many new acquaintances and families up to that point was to be surpassed. Both inside and outside the lecture halls of the University of Karlsruhe (now KIT).

I also met my wife during my mechanical engineering studies. After I graduated, we decided to stay in Karlsruhe. Both the professional opportunities and the colorful mix of the population and the great geographical location with lots of sun and warmth as well as the proximity to France were irresistible to us. Our daughter also seems to be happy with this choice.

I work as a mechanical engineer and have lived in the region for almost three decades. I really appreciate the openness of the people here. There have certainly not only been positive experiences or encounters. It would be unfair to my many German and foreign friends to focus only on that. However, if I take stock of what I have experienced and achieved, it is definitely positive throughout.

Field report by Sylvain Djikam Tchale
Field report by Sylvain Djikam Tchale
Further topics
Health
The Karlsruhe TechnologyRegion (TRK) has a dense network of hospitals, doctors' surgeries and pharmacies. We answer your questions on health-related topics such as health insurance, health cards, visits to the doctor, hospital stays, emergencies and preventive care.
Skilled Worker Immigration Act
The Skilled Immigration Act (FEG) is a groundbreaking milestone in German immigration policy that opens the doors for qualified international skilled workers to work in Germany.
Business Location
A place for new beginnings: The Karlsruhe TechnologyRegion (TRK) is one of the strongest economic and innovative regions in Europe. Do you want to arrive here as an international specialist and take your career to the next level? Then you have made exactly the right decision!
We are here for you!
Please feel free to contact us.

Kontakt
Suche
Close this search box.
Suche
Close this search box.

Welcome Guides

Gemeinsam die TechnologieRegion Karlsruhe (TRK) erkunden, Kontakte knüpfen und im neuen Alltag und Beruf ankommen. Die Welcome Guides begleiten die internationalen Fachkräfte auf ihren ersten Schritten in der Region, um ihnen den Start zu erleichtern.
Entdecken Sie das Tandem-Programm für Sie als internationale Fachkraft und alle Informationen, wenn Sie selbst Welcome Guide werden möchten! 

Auf dieser Seite:

Welcome Guide Schulung 2024

Modul 1, 26. Juni 2024, 17 – 20 Uhr

Modul 2, 10. Juli 2024, 17 – 20 Uhr

Ausgefülltes Anmeldeformular bitte an [email protected]. Wir kontaktieren Sie anschließend.

Downloads:

Flyer „Meine Schulung zum Welcome Guide“ (883 KB, PDF)
Anmeldeformular Welcome Guide (118 KB, PDF)

Was ist ein Welcome Guide?

Bei den Welcome Guides handelt es sich um engagierte Bürger:innen, die seit mehreren Jahren in der TechnologieRegion Karlsruhe (TRK) zuhause sind und Ihnen das Einleben in einer der sonnigsten Region Deutschlands erleichtern wollen. Ihr Welcome Guide begleitet Sie hierbei für den Zeitraum von 6 Monaten.

Bei der Begleitung soll es nicht um Behördengänge oder Übersetzungsdienste gehen, sondern viel mehr um Gespräche, Begegnungen, gemeinsame Freizeitaktivitäten – um Themen, die Sie mögen, die Sie benötigen und die Sie voranbringen.

Wir sind uns sicher, dass Sie und Ihr Welcome Guide von diesem neuen Tandem-Programm profitieren werden.

Sie sind an dem Tandem-Programm interessiert? Nehmen Sie gerne Kontakt mit uns auf – wir finden den perfekten Welcome Guide für Sie.

Trailer: Welcome Guides

Auf einen Blick: Was macht ein Welcome Guide?

Ihr Welcome Guide begleitet Sie auf Ihren ersten Schritten in der TechnologieRegion Karlsruhe und:

  • erleichtert Ihnen den Start und das Einleben in der noch ungewohnten Umgebung,
  • teilt eigene Erfahrungen, gibt Impulse für neue Kontakte,
  • zeigt gegebenenfalls Möglichkeiten für Ihre Familienmitglieder auf,
  • trägt dazu bei, dass Sie sich schnell heimisch fühlen können.

Was gehört nicht zu den Aufgaben Ihres Welcome Guides?

Ihr Welcome Guide kümmert sich nicht um Leistungen wie Rechtsberatung, Begleitung zu Ämtern, Terminvereinbarungen oder Übersetzen und Dolmetschen.

Sie möchten selbst ein Welcome Guide werden?

Alle Bürger:innen, die sich in der Technologieregion Karlsruhe zuhause fühlen und Ihre Erfahrungen und Tipps gerne weitergeben, können Welcome Guide werden. Ob Sie schon lange in unserer Region leben oder erst seit kurzer Zeit in der Region angekommen sind, spielt dabei keine Rolle.

Was sind die Rahmenbedingungen der Tandembeziehung?

  • Dauer: 6 Monate
  • Häufigkeit der Kontakte: Minimum 1x vierzehntägig
  • Form der Treffen obliegt den Tandempartner:innen
  • Das Welcome Center TRK steht stets als Ansprechpartner zur Verfügung

Referentin der Schulung zum Welcome Guide

Meike von Platen-Holzapfel
Dipl. Ökonomin, Global Mobility Consultant, Career-& Transition Coach

Bei BASF prägt sie seit vielen Jahren die Willkommenskultur am Standort in Ludwigshafen. Sie hat zahlreiche internationale Fach- und Führungskräfte darin unterstützt, ihre Entsendung zur Firmenzentrale erfolgreich zu gestalten und sich mit ihren Familien in der Region zuhause zu fühlen. Auch aus eigener Erfahrung kennt sie die Herausforderungen, die ein beruflicher Neuanfang in einem anderen Land mit sich bringt und weiß, wie sie erfolgreich gemeistert werden können.

Das Tandem-Programm im Detail

Seit 2021 bietet das Welcome Center TechnologieRegion Karlsruhe eine weitere Unterstützung für internationale Fachkräfte und Studierende, insbesondere Neuankömmlinge, in der Region an: das Tandem-Programm „Welcome Guides“. Dieses Projekt ist 2021 im Rahmen einer einjährigen Kooperation zwischen dem Welcome Center TRK und dem Rotary Club Karlsruhe-Fächerstadt entstanden und wird 2023 zum dritten Mal vom Welcome Center TRK fortgeführt.

Der Wettbewerb um Fachkräfte aus dem Ausland ist groß. Aus diesem Grund gilt es die nachhaltige Integration der internationalen Fachkräfte und Studierenden, die die TechnologieRegion Karlsruhe als Lebens- und Arbeitsraum für sich gewählt haben, aktiv zu fördern. „Nur wenn die Menschen soziale Anknüpfungspunkte, sprich Kontakte finden, werden sie bleiben“, so Petra Bender, Leiterin des Welcome Center TRK. „Die meisten unserer bisherigen Teilnehmer:innen erlebten das Programm als wertvolle Bereicherung für beide Seiten – für die Ankommenden und die Guides.“

Erfahrungsberichte

Internationale Fachkräfte berichten über ihren Start in der TRK. Sie planen einen beruflichen (Neu-) Start in der TechnologieRegion Karlsruhe? Lesen Sie, wie internationale Fachkräfte aus Indien, Serbien, Pakistan, Spanien, Kolumbien und Kamerun ihren Start in der TRK gemeistert haben – fünf ganz persönliche Erfahrungsberichte.

Shital Khaladkar – Software-Entwicklerin aus Indien

Unsere Kinder wachsen hier in Karlsruhe ganz selbstverständlich mit drei Sprachen auf: mit Deutsch, Englisch und Marathi, unserer Muttersprache. Ermöglicht wird uns das durch die Europäische Schule Karlsruhe. Ihretwegen sind wir vor der Einschulung unseres Sohnes nach Karlsruhe gezogen. Das war meinem Mann und mir sehr wichtig, denn wir wissen nicht, wohin uns sein Job in der Zukunft noch führt. Deswegen bin ich froh, dass unser Sohn hier zur Schule gehen kann.

Jetzt, wo seine kleine Schwester in den ESK-Kindergarten geht, bin ich Working Mum und arbeite wieder halbtags in der IT-Branche. Außerdem mache ich ein berufsbegleitendes Masterstudium. Das alles wäre ohne eine zuverlässige Ganztagsbetreuung überhaupt nicht denkbar! Alleine deswegen würde ich mich jederzeit wieder für Karlsruhe entscheiden.

Den Wald und den Schlossgarten liebe ich besonders an der Stadt. Als Softwareentwicklerin gefällt mir natürlich auch das technische Flair ─ das ZKM, das KIT… Und wir sind hier gut aufgenommen worden. Zum Beispiel hat uns ein Kollege meines Mannes unsere Wohnung in der Waldstadt vermittelt. Besser hätten wir es gar nicht treffen können. Aber wir haben auch weniger schöne Erfahrungen in Deutschland gemacht, muss ich sagen. Zum Beispiel mit Vermieter:innen: zunächst haben wir in einer Wohnung viel zu viel bezahlt. Jetzt sind wir Mitglieder in einem Mieterverein. Die Beratung ist sehr hilfreich, wenn man sich nicht so auskennt. Ich kann nur jedem, der neu in Deutschland ist, raten, solche Möglichkeiten wahrzunehmen. Dann funktioniert der Alltag einfach besser.

Erfahrungsbericht von Shital Khaladkar
Erfahrungsbericht von Shital Khaladkar

Vesna Prelevic – Internistin aus Serbien

Schon während meines Medizinstudiums in Serbien habe ich gehört, dass es in Deutschland an Ärzten und Ärztinnen fehlt. Die Option, dort zu arbeiten, fand ich sehr interessant, also habe ich am Goethe Institut in Novi Sad angefangen Deutsch zu lernen.

Als ich mein Examen dann hatte, wollte ich unbedingt in Deutschland arbeiten und habe mich gezielt bei einigen Kliniken beworben. Um mein Deutsch weiter zu verbessern – die Sprache muss man einfach beherrschen, wenn man mit Patient:innen arbeitet – habe ich während meines Urlaubs einen Intensivkurs an der Volkshochschule in Karlsruhe besucht. Genau zu dem Zeitpunkt hat das Klinikum Karlsbad Langensteinbach, also ganz in der Nähe, auf meine Bewerbung reagiert. Was soll ich sagen? Der Rest ist Geschichte… Nach mittlerweile zwei Jahren in Karlsbad kann ich sagen: Das war ein glücklicher Zufall.

Weil die Gleichwertigkeit meines Studiums noch nachgewiesen werden musste, habe ich zunächst als Hospitantin gearbeitet und mich auf meine Prüfung vorbereitet. Das war viel Arbeit, aber es hat sich gelohnt: Als ich die Prüfung erfolgreich abgelegt hatte, bekam ich eine deutsche Approbation ausgestellt. Jetzt kann ich ganz regulär als Ärztin in Deutschland arbeiten.

In dem Anerkennungsprozess hat mich das Klinikum aktiv unterstützt. Überhaupt bin ich hier sehr gut aufgenommen worden! Es gibt zum Beispiel auch einen Deutschkurs für Ärzte und Ärztinnen im Haus, denn wir sind ein sehr internationales Kollegium. Da ist das Einleben auch gleich viel leichter, finde ich. Einen Kulturschock habe ich eigentlich gar nicht erlebt. Das geht bei mir einfach so Schritt für Schritt. Mein nächstes Projekt ist mein Führerschein. Den muss ich auch noch umschreiben lassen…

Erfahrungsbericht von Vesna Prelevic
Erfahrungsbericht von Vesna Prelevic

Dr.-Ing. Saquib Sarfraz – Wissenschaftler aus Pakistan

Die TechnologieRegion Karlsruhe ist für mich ein Tor zu Europa! In einer Stunde Fahrtzeit kann man die unterschiedlichsten Orte erreichen: Frankreich mit dem schönen Elsass, die Schweiz und natürlich den Schwarzwald und die Pfalz. Das ist wunderbar! Dazu kommt die sehr hohe Lebensqualität in der Region. Hightech trifft Lebensart – das trifft es genau!

Ich habe ja den Vergleich. Als Wissenschaftler bin ich viel herumgekommen: Neben Pakistan habe ich mit meiner Familie auch eine Zeit lang in Großbritannien gelebt, und meine Promotion habe ich in Berlin gemacht. Aber nur Karlsruhe ist zu unserer zweiten Heimat geworden.

Nach Karlsruhe kam ich wegen einer Stelle am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT). Obwohl ich eine sehr gute Position an meiner Universität in Pakistan hatte, wusste ich sofort, dass ich mich bewerben will, als ich die Ausschreibung las. In meiner Forschung beschäftige ich mich mit Mensch-Computer-Interaktion. Die Arbeitsbedingungen für dieses Wissenschaftsgebiet sind hier ideal. Die Förderstrukturen in Deutschland sind einmalig – als Wissenschaftler habe ich hier einfach mehr Möglichkeiten. Da ich forsche, lehre und wissenschaftliche Arbeiten betreue, ist meine Tätigkeit am KIT sehr vielseitig. Diese Abwechslung genieße ich sehr.

Jetzt bin ich seit über zwei Jahren hier, und die Zeit ist unglaublich schnell vergangen. Dass meine Familie, meine Frau und unsere drei Kinder, zunächst nicht direkt mit mir nach Deutschland einreisen konnte, war etwas lästig. Das Verfahren zum Familiennachzug ist recht aufwändig gewesen. Aber als das geschafft war, war für uns schnell klar: hier wollen wir bleiben!

Erfahrungsberichte von Saquib Sarfraz
Erfahrungsberichte von Saquib Sarfraz

Iñigo Sesar – Student der Elektrotechnik aus Bilbao

Ein Fahrrad kaufen, das war so ziemlich das Erste, was ich gemacht habe, als ich in Karlsruhe angekommen bin. Die vielen Radwege sind für mich als Hobbyradsportler ideal – kein Vergleich zu Bilbao. Dann habe ich auf dem Rad meine neue Umgebung erkundet. Die Fächerstruktur der Stadt fasziniert mich total! Naja, von einem Ingenieur erwartet man auch nichts anderes, oder?
Genauer mache ich meinen Master in Elektrotechnik und bin gerade am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) als Austauschstudent. Hierher gekommen bin ich wegen des super Rufs der Uni. Und an meiner Hochschule zuhause, der Universität des Baskenlandes, haben Kommilitonen von mir, die hier schon ein Erasmussemester absolviert haben gesagt: das musst du unbedingt machen!

In Karlsruhe eine Wohnung zu finden, war richtig schwierig. Da war ich zwischenzeitlich echt verzweifelt und dachte ich muss das Semester über im Hostel wohnen. Am Schluss ist aber alles gut gegangen, und ich habe eine WG in der Südstadt gefunden. Zum Glück!

Ansonsten war der Empfang hier sehr warm: Das KIT kümmert sich super um uns Austauschstudierende. Besonders in den ersten Wochen war das sehr hilfreich. Der von Studierenden betriebene Arbeitskreis Erasmus und die Leute vom International Students Office haben einen super Job gemacht. Lauter Veranstaltungen, Partys und Ausflüge – da kommt kein Heimweh auf!
Wenn ich erst meinen Master in der Tasche habe, kann ich mir gut vorstellen, hierher zu kommen und einen Job zu suchen. Für einen Ingenieur gibt es einfach so viele spannende Firmen in der TRK. Da nimmt man auch das deutsche Wetter in Kauf…

Erfahrungsbericht von Iñigo Sesar
Erfahrungsbericht von Iñigo Sesar

Elsa Martínez Uribe – Absolventin aus Kolumbien

Als ich in die Region kam, war das – wie sagt man hier in Deutschland? – ein Sprung ins kalte Wasser. In meiner Heimat, in Kolumbien, ist vieles doch ganz anders. Ich habe zuvor nie in Deutschland gelebt. Mein Mann ist Deutscher, und nach unserer Hochzeit bin ich ihm hierher gefolgt. Durch ihn habe ich die Kultur schon ein wenig kennengelernt, aber hier zu leben ist dann doch etwas ganz anderes.

Baden-Baden bedeutet für mich einen Neustart. Vor allem im Job. Deshalb habe ich über die letzten Monate einen Sprachkurs für berufsbezogenes Deutsch gemacht. Ich habe neben der Sprache auch viel über das Berufsleben in Deutschland gelernt – über Verträge, Steuern und alles, was man so wissen muss. Das hat mir sehr geholfen.

Ein vierwöchiges Praktikum war Teil des Kurses. Dafür mussten wir uns selbst um eine Stelle kümmern. Das war ein super Training! Der Kurs ist bald zu Ende und jetzt weiß ich, dass ich es schaffen kann. Ich fühle mich bereit, mir hier einen Job zu suchen.

Wir wollen gerne in der Region bleiben, denn in Baden-Baden haben wir uns gut eingelebt, und wir fühlen uns hier wohl. Die Stadt hat eine ganz besondere Atmosphäre. Und alles ist so schick – selbst im Bus treffe ich Damen, die aussehen wie die Queen.

Erfahrungsbericht von Elsa Martínez Uribe
Erfahrungsbericht von Elsa Martínez Uribe

Sylvain Djikam Tchale – Maschinenbauingenieur aus Kamerun

Als leidenschaftlicher Maschinenbauer war mir schon als Gymnasiast in Kamerun klar, dass ich einmal nach Deutschland gehen wollte. Für uns in Kamerun ist Deutschland der Maschinenbau-Weltmeister schlechthin. So wagte ich mich ausgerechnet im Januar vom warmen Afrika ins eisige Deutschland, um zunächst einen Sprachkurs zu besuchen. Eine wichtige Grundlage für meinen weiteren Werdegang. Nach sechs Monaten folgte das Vorpraktikum.

In der Zwischenzeit waren Zulassungsbescheide einiger Universitäten eingetroffen. In Karlsruhe fand ich sehr schnell eine Unterkunft. Somit war die Entscheidung für Karlsruhe relativ einfach und richtig. Die bis dahin von vielen neuen Bekannten und Familien demonstrierte Hilfsbereitschaft sollte noch übertroffen werden. Sowohl inner- als auch außerhalb der Hörsäle der Universität Karlsruhe (Heute KIT).

Während meines Maschinenbaustudiums lernte ich auch meine Frau kennen. Nach meinem Studienabschluss beschlossen wir, in Karlsruhe zu bleiben. Sowohl die beruflichen Möglichkeiten als auch der bunt gemischte Charakter der Bevölkerung und die tolle geografische Lage mit viel Sonne und Wärme sowie der Nähe zu Frankreich waren für uns unwiderstehlich. Auch unsere Tochter scheint mit dieser Wahl zufrieden zu sein.

Ich bin als Maschinenbauingenieur tätig und lebe seit fast drei Jahrzehnten in der Region. Die Offenheit der Menschen hier schätze ich sehr. Sicherlich gab es nicht ausschließlich positive Erfahrungen oder Begegnungen. Meinen vielen deutschen und ausländischen Freund:innen gegenüber wäre es unfair, sich nur darauf zu konzentrieren. Wenn ich aus dem Erlebten und Erreichten jedoch Bilanz ziehe, ist diese auf jeden Fall durchweg positiv.

Erfahrungsbericht von Sylvain Djikam Tchale
Erfahrungsbericht von Sylvain Djikam Tchale
Weitere Themen
Aufenthaltstitel für Fachkräfte
Sie möchten nach Deutschland kommen und in der TechnologieRegion Karlsruhe (TRK) arbeiten? Wir beantworten Ihre Fragen rund um Themen wie das Visum oder den Aufenthaltstitel für Deutschland.
Anerkennung beruflicher Qualifikationen
Sie haben bereits einen Abschluss in Ihrem Heimatland erworben? Dann lassen Sie diesen in Deutschland anerkennen. Erfahren Sie mehr über Prozesse wie das Anerkennungsverfahren, Kosten oder die Dauer auf den folgenden Seiten.
Deutsch lernen
Sie möchten Deutsch lernen oder Ihr Deutsch verbessern? Mit finanziell geförderten Kursangeboten unterstützt die Bundesregierung die Integration und Qualifizierung von zugewanderten Menschen.
Wir sind für Sie da!
Nehmen Sie gerne Kontakt mit uns auf.